christina’s world

This painting has always struck a haunting chord with me. As far back as 1974, my mother can remember my great aunt Joyce’s print hanging in her guest bedroom. I remember taking that print down while we moved her into an assisted living home some 30 years later. That print now resides in my studio/guest bedroom, hovering over a quilt that has been in my family since the late 1800’s (made by my great-great grandmother).

I saw the actual painting back in 2001 at the Andrew Wyeth exhibit at the Nelson Atkins Museum of Art. My favorite real-life sighting to date, for sure.

This painting reminds me of Christina’s World. Sadly, I have no idea who it’s by.

The painting was inspired by Wyeth’s neighbor, Christina, who was paralyzed from the waist down. He looked out his kitchen window to see Christina dragging herself across a field. How’s that for inspiration?

Leave a Reply

